About Me

I graduated from The Ohio State University in 1993 with a degree in special education (mild/moderate) and a minor in Spanish.  I was very fortunate to get a job teaching in a suburb of Columbus, Ohio.  I worked  there as an Intervention Specialist for 15 years.  During that time, I went back to school at Ashland University where I received my license to teach elementary grades 1-8.  I also earned my Master’s Degree in Literacy from Ohio State.  In 2008, I started teaching fifth grade, where I stayed for three years. After that, I switched to fourth grade where I stayed for five years.  In 2016, I felt a tug at my heart to teach younger children.  I followed my heart and fell in love with teaching second grade where I plan to stay for a while.

I am from a huge family, including nine siblings and 16 nieces & nephews.   I feel extremely blessed to have many meaningful relationships with family and friends.  Of course, I can’t forget to mention my adorable rescue pup, Millie.  Adopting her was one of the best decisions I have ever made!

Ten Additional Facts About Me

1. I am a Christian.

2. Bungee jumping, snorkeling in Hawaii, and hiking through a redwood forest are three things I have crossed off my bucket list.

3. Hiking the Grand Canyon, traveling to Spain, and skydiving are three things that are still on my bucket list.

4. I love to garden, and my favorite flower is a snapdragon.

5. I am a huge Duke basketball fan.

6. I ran four marathons before reaching my goal time of 4 hours.

7. I don’t watch much TV, but I am absolutely addicted to Scandal.

8. I love having my nieces over to bake cookies.

9. I live dangerously close to a mall with some of my favorite stores.  

10.  I think trying new things is fun and a great way to grow as a person.